100th Post! Ruminations about reading, writing, and TV adaptations

Wow, it’s been a long time since I posted in my blog! I guess that’s what happens when you are in graduate school. The past 9 months I feel as though I have done nothing but read and write, but that reading and writing was to fill my brain with knowledge and not for pleasure (though it was somewhat pleasurable). In spite of my lag in posting, I am very excited that I’ve made it to 100 posts in this blog. While I wish I had more time to post, it’s still nice when I do find the time. Thanks to all of you who stuck around!

Now, it’s finally summer, which means I have time to read and write for myself again. For some reason, I haven’t started with heavy reading; I’m powering through the fairly terrible, yet highly addictive “Gossip Girl” series after watching the series last year. What intrigues me about the books are how much better the TV series was than the books. The characters are one dimensional and unlikeable and the plot is uninspired. In contrast, the show (while somewhat soap-operatic) is much more compelling, largely because of the dimensions brought to the characters.

Identifying what was changed and why is similar to the questions I ask myself when writing a novel. What do you keep and why do you keep it?  How do you change something to make it better. This is really the only reason I keep reading (plus, I kind of like reading things I can finish in under 2 hours)

I also read “Darkly Dreaming Dexter,” the novel the show Dexter is based on, after getting hooked on the TV show. Again, it’s another case of TV doing it better. Though I enjoyed the novel, the pulp style and simplistic characterization was less compelling than in the show. However, I found it interesting identifying the differences between the two. I plan to continue reading the series once I finish watching the show.

darklydreamingdexter

In both of these cases I started the show first, but based on the writing I am sure that I would still like the show better even if I started the books first. (In fact, I probably wouldn’t be continuing on with “Gossip Girl” had I not seen the show.)

I am now looking for writing inspiration and this summer I hope to re-engage with my writing group and do more writing activities. I also hope to pick up working on my novel, which I will do with July’s Camp Nanowrimo!

At any rate, rest assured that I hope to start posting more again. I owe you a list of the books I read last year and highlights of my favorites. I’ll be back soon to do that and to post reviews of the novels I’ve read so far this year. In the meantime, it’s nice to see you again!

Comments
2 Responses to “100th Post! Ruminations about reading, writing, and TV adaptations”
  1. It’s pretty rare when I like a movie more than the book! I have to say Jaws was an awful book. I preferred The Shining movie better than the book but we’ve already discussed that elsewhere… There’s some others I can’t remember at the moment.

    • bahia says:

      I definitely feel the same. Usually I like the book better, but that’s when they make a movie out of really great books (like Harry Potter, Battle Royale, etc.). I think the reason I liked these tv series better is because the books were mediocre. I don’t really care about watching the new 50 Shades of Gray, but it would be interesting to compare it with the books. I’m guessing the movie will be better.

Leave a Reply

