2015 Book Reviews – 1st 5 Books of 2015

I haven’t done such a great job of posting here lately, so I’m going to share some of my on-going reviews from Goodreads that I write as part of my annual reading challenge. This year, I am attempting to read 45 books. Wish me luck!!

Dragons of a Fallen Sun (Dragonlance: The War of Souls, #1)Dragons of a Fallen Sun by Margaret Weis

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I picked this up used for a friend and decided to read it before I gave it to him. Weis and Hickman are supposed to be some of the best writers in the Dragonlance series, but I was not impressed. They tell, but don’t show, overuse words (never seen the word “restive” used more in a book), and this book should have been significantly shorter. It had been a long time since I’d read any of the Dragonlance novels and I didn’t particularly mind that you were supposed to be familiar with the world to know the context of this one, but this book was nothing special with characters I didn’t particularly care about.

About halfway through it picked up a lot so I did give the next two books in the trilogy a chance, but once I finished the trilogy I pretty much decided to give Dragonlance a pass in the future.


Dragons of a Lost Star by Margaret Weis

Dragons of a Lost Star (Dragonlance: The War of Souls, #2)

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Still plodding on, but better than the first one. I’m still not impressed, but sticking it out since I want to know what’s going to happen. I’ll review the whole trilogy when I finish the 3rd book.


Dragons of a Vanished Moon (Dragonlance: The War of Souls, #3)Dragons of a Vanished Moon by Margaret Weis

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I finally made it through the trilogy. Whew. The second 2 book was better than the first, but this series needed an editor in a bad way. It should have been 1 book, not 3. I stuck it out, but I’ll be giving Dragonlance a pass in the future. The writing is not the worst, but it wasn’t great either and the characters were one dimensional. There were some interesting tidbits, but overall nothing special. There are much better fantasy authors out there.


Romeo and JulietRomeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Like all Shakespeare, the flow of the words and use of euphemism and metaphor is spot on, but compared to his other works this is not one of his finest. That marriage, and then tragedy, should spring from adolescent lust and the stubbornness of two families is a bit ridiculous and though the audiobook production I listened to was very good, it did not improve the absurdity of the story and how the conspiring nurse and friar were much to blame in this misfortune.

4 stars for the writing
3 stars for the story


God Bless You, Mr. RosewaterGod Bless You, Mr. Rosewater by Kurt Vonnegut

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The brilliant thing about this book is that it could have been written this year. The commentary on capitalism and the delusions of grandeur of the rich are spot on 2014, and the book was written in 1965! If you like Vonnegut’s style of writing then this book will not disappoint.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

